Thursday, July 17, 2014

Review: Sealed with a Kiss by Rachael Lucas

Posted by Wajiha Q at Thursday, July 17, 2014
Title: Sealed with a Kiss 
Author: Rachael Lucas
My Rating: ★★★★
Genres: Women's fiction, Chick Lit
Published May 8th 2014
Format: Paperback, Won

Description from Goodreads:
* The Top Ten Kindle bestseller, now with brand NEW material! *

Kate is dumped on her best friend's wedding day by the world's most boring boyfriend, Ian. She's mostly cross because he got in first - until she remembers she's now homeless as well as jobless. Rather than move back home to her ultra-bossy mother, Kate takes a job on the remote Scottish island of Auchenmor as an all-round Girl Friday. Her first day is pretty much a disaster: she falls over, smack bang at the feet of her grouchy new boss, Roddy, Laird of the Island. Unimpressed with her townie ways, he makes it clear she's got a lot to prove.

Island life has no room for secrets, but prickly Roddy's keeping something to himself. When his demanding ex girlfriend appears back on the island, Kate's budding friendship with her new boss comes to an abrupt end. What is Fiona planning - and can she be stopped before it's too late?

This funny, big-hearted novel is the perfect read for fans of Carole Matthews, Trisha Ashley and Katie Fforde.

My Review:

Sealed with a Kiss follows Kate, a woman who has always chosen the "easy option"; she settles down with a guy (Ian) out of convenience, and not because she has affectionate feelings for him. And when her relationship went downhill, she grabs the opportunity to escape to a remote Scottish island, and figure out where to go from there.

Kate is an adorable character. I like that she's silly in a cute way, but doesn't make stupid choices. She has a really tender and sweet personality which makes it easy for you to adore her. On the other hand we have Roderick who's another character I really loved; he is Kate's employer, and the owner of the island. He's a gorgeously handsome guy who has lots of responsibility thrust upon him, and I love how he and Kate work together to save the decaying island.

As you can deduce from the title and the beautiful cover, this book focuses on the romance. But unlike other novels with a not so believable insta-love, Sealed with a Kiss has a slow building romance. It takes things really slowly, and makes you savour every moment. I've lost count on how many times I re-read some parts and dialogues because they were extremely romantic, and made me smile.

The setting is wonderful, the book beautifully describes Scotland in its winter glory. I can imagine myself in one of those cottages with a cup of hot chocolate on a cold winter's day. *Sigh*

This book makes you feel warm inside, and I'd say it's a great book to read during winter holidays.

0 comments:

Post a Comment

 

Jiha's file © 2014 - Graphics by Jiha's file

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...